top of page
  • Writer's pictureSimple Joy

{A Warm Home}

You don't realize how grateful you are for a warm and safe home until the temperatures drop and the idea of going outside is terrible!

This week, I'm focusing my joy on the gratitude of a warm home for many reasons! First off, it's in the 20's this week in Missouri. I've been living in Texas for 10+ years and I've lost my tolerance to cold weather!


Baby gates everywhere... because, toddlers


Secondly, I'm grateful that the warm home I'm enjoying is filled with my family and so many memories of my family. For those that don't know much about me, let me start with mentioning I LIVE in Dallas, Texas with my husband and two daughters in a beautiful home we built together! When my mom's health declined quickly, we made a decision as a family to temporarily relocate to Missouri to spend time with my mom and fill our lives with memories. We didn't have a return date, or even a perspective of when we would get back, so there was a lot of unknown! My mom passed unexpectedly at the end of this September and we made the choice as a family to stay in Missouri a little longer.


Beautiful tree in the fall outside my parent's home


My parents bought this home almost 15 years ago as their own dream home. My mom poured her heart into decorating and furnishing it perfectly. (To those that have seen her home, will remember this..) Even though my sister and I would constantly complain about it, she LOVED the floor to ceiling vegetable wallpaper covering every inch of her kitchen. Despite our complaints, she decorated her whole house to coordinate and was incredibly proud of her beautiful home.


Christmas 7 years ago in Mom's perfectly coordinated dining room!


What I love most about this home are the memories we made here. I graduated high school, left for college, came back from Texas to stay on holiday breaks, the countless parties, my sister's baby shower, it where all the grand babies came to be loved, and it's where we spent the last moments of my mom's life with her.

Right now, I've been working with my family to pack things up and help my dad sell this house that's filled with all the memories. I can't help but wonder how I feel when I don't call this place home anymore and a new family comes in to make all these memories. After A LOT of prayer and reflection, I actually have true joy and excitement at the idea of giving this home to another family.

The house is a place we get together and put our things. When we pack up the boxes, we're taking all the love and memories that have filled that home and bringing them along side us.  However, I know the family that moves in after us we will feel the LOVE that was cultivated for years within these walls.

We are beyond blessed that we have a place to call home and stay warm during these cold days. Not everyone is so blessed. Usually I would close with "keep them in your thoughts and prayers", but today I'm going to ask more of you. I ask that you do something to bring joy in that person's life. Donate an old coat, sweater, or hat. Donate financial or time resources to an organization that helps those without secure housing to stay warm this season and SHARE that with others and ask them to do the same!

Jump on over to our FB or IG @simplejoysisters, share in the comments, or tag us in your post to let us know how you made a difference this week! Spread the joy!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page